About India
  Judicial System
  Science & Tech.
  Defence Forces
  Space Program
  Standard of Living
  Flag of India

Major Achievements of Space Research Program

Shown below are some of the milestones in the history of Indian Space Research Program

  • 1962: Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR); formed by the Department of Atomic Energy, and work on establishing Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) near Trivandrum began. 

  • 1963: First sounding rocket launched from TERLS on November 21, 1963. 

  • 1965: Space Science & Technology Centre (SSTC) established in Thumba. 

  • 1967: Satellite Telecommunication Earth Station set up at Ahmedabad. 

  • 1972: Space Commission and Department of Space set up. 

  • 1975: First Indian Satellite, Aryabhata, launched (April 19, 1975). 

  • 1976: Satellite Instructional Television Experiment (SITE) conducted. 

  • 1979: Bhaskara-1, an experimental satellite launched. First experimental launch of SLV-3 with Rohini satellite on board failed. 

  • 1980: Second experimental launch of SLV-3 Rohini satellite successfully placed in orbit. 

  • 1981: APPLE, an experimental geostationary communication satellite successfully launched on June 19. 

  • 1981: Bhaskara-II launched on November 20. 

  • 1982: INSAT-1A launched (April); deactivated in September. 

  • 1983: Second launch of SLV-3. RS-D2 placed in orbit. INSAT-1B launched. 

  • 1984: Indo-Soviet manned space mission (April). Rakesh Sharma became the first Indian to reach space. 

  • 1987: ASLV with SROSS-1 satellite on board launched. 

  • 1988: First Indian remote sensing satellite, IRS-1A launched. INSAT-1C launched (July). Abandoned in November. 

  • 1990: INSAT-1D launched successfully. 

  • 1991: Launch of second operational Remote Sensing satellite, IRS-1B (August). 

  • 1992: Third developmental launch of ASLV with SROCC-C on board (May). Satellite placed in orbit. First indigenously built satellite INSAT-2A launched successfully. 

  • 1993: INSAT-2B launched in July successfully. First developmental launch of PSLV with IRS-1E on board fails. 

  • 1994: Fourth developmental launch of ASLV successful (May). Second developmental launch of Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) with IRS-P2 successfully (October). 

  • 1995: INSAT-2C launched in December. Third operational IRS (IRS) launched. 

  • 1996: Third developmental launch of PSLV with IRS-P3 successful (March). 

  • 1997: INSAT-2D launched in June becomes inoperational in October. Arabsat1C, since renamed INSAT-2DT, acquired in November. First operational launch of PSLV with IRS-1D successful (September). 

  • 1998: INSAT system capacity augmented with the readiness of INSAT-2DT acquired from Arabsat (January). 

  • 1999: INSAT-2E the last satellite in the multi-purpose INSAT-2 series, launched by Ariane from Kourou French Guyana (April 3, 1999). IRS-P4 (OCEANSAT), launched by Polar Satellite launch vehicle (PSLV-C2) along with Korean KITSAT-3 and German DLR-TUBSAT from Sriharikota (26 May 1999). 

  • 2000: INSAT-3B was launched on 22 March 2000. 

  • 2001: Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle-D1 (GDLV-D1), the first developmental launch of GSLV with GSAT-1 onboard partially successful. 

  • 2002: INSAT-3C launced successfully by Arianespace (January), PSLV-C4 launches KALPANA-1 (September). 

  • 2003: GSLV-D2, the second developmental launch of GSLV with GSAT-2 successful (May). 

  • 2004: First operational flight of GSLV (F1) successfully launches EDUSAT (September). 

  • 2005: Launch of CARTOSAT and HAMSAT by PSLV-C6 from the second launch pad (Universal Launch Pad) (May). 

  • 2006: INSAT 4A Launched successfully. Planned launch of CARTOSAT-2, SRE and LAPAN-TUBSAT

home      contact us